The Resource Forging on, Catherine Robinson

Forging on, Catherine Robinson

Label
Forging on
Title
Forging on
Statement of responsibility
Catherine Robinson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A warm and funny debut novel about a trainee blacksmith navigating his first year in the Yorkshire Dales - perfect for fans of Countryfile, James Herriott's All Creatures Great and Small and the bestseller, The Shepherd's Life. When Will - soon to be known as 'Posh Lad' - starts as an apprentice for Stanley Lampitt, he expects horses, fresh air and a solid training in forge-work and horses. What he gets is Stanley, 'six-foot-six of tattooed muscle, with a gleaming shaven head' and Ewan, raised at the bad end of the Cribbs Estate. It's a baptism of fire. After a rocky start - Will doesn't drink Yorkshire tea - the three settle into a rhythm, barrelling around Yorkshire in a series of dodgy vans, forging iron and shoeing horses. Whether it's dealing with Stan's dog Lucky - the Jack Russell with the heart and soul of a serial killer - or a 17-hands stallion aptly-named Earthquake - Will learns his lessons the hard way, all the while ensuring Stan and Ewan don't catch on to his phobia of chickens...With a cast of rich Arabs, stingy old ladies, ex-footballers, gypsies, glamorous polo wives and a host of different horses, a few donkeys and the odd llama, together they navigate the highs and lows of romantic entanglements, swarms of bees, combustible chickens and daily pranks. And by the end of the year, 'Posh Lad' has learnt a whole lot more than what it is to be a good blacksmith..
Cataloging source
NZ-GlWB
Literary form
fiction
Forging on, Catherine Robinson
Label
Forging on, Catherine Robinson
Publication
Note
"One Yorkshire lad learns the lessons of country life: hard graft and plenty of tea"--Cover
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=nlonzsd&isbn=9781409168447&upc=&oclc=/LC.JPG
Dimensions
20 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'PN_CENTRAL': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/pn/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'TR_EKE': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/tararua/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'PUKEARIKI': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/np/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'SN_LINCOLN': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/selwyn/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'CQ_CROM': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/cq/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'TI_TIMARU': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/timaru/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada', 'KAIAPOI': 'https://ent.kotui.org.nz/client/en_AU/waimakariri/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:4284014/ada'}
Extent
295 pages
Isbn
9781409168447
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n

Library Locations

    • Cromwell LibraryBorrow it
      43 The Mall, Cromwell, 9310, NZ
      -45.0374014 169.1976183
Processing Feedback ...